Our Priorities

Our Key Priorities

SQRH is a University Department of Rural Health, a Commonwealth-funded collaboration between The University of Queensland, University of Southern Queensland, Darling Downs Health and South West Hospital and Health Service. SQRH has been funded to work across 7 key priority areas.

  • Delivering effective rural training experiences for allied health, nursing and midwifery students (prior to gaining professional registration).
  • Ensuring rural training experiences are of a high quality.
  • Developing processes to improve rural student recruitment.
  • Engaging with the local community to support the delivery of training to students.
  • Maintaining and progressing an evidence base and the rural health research agenda.
  • Supporting improvements in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
  • Providing regional leadership in developing innovative training solutions to address rural workforce recruitment retention.
Sqrh 1803055 Website Design About Priority Page

Supporting students toward enriching careers in rural health

Our strong relationships with local health providers ensures highly innovative and flexible rural training experiences and delivers enhanced clinical learning opportunities for nursing, midwifery and allied health students. SQRH supported students experience all that rural community life has to offer.

Supporting our rural health workforce

SQRH delivers innovative training solutions to enhance the capability of the rural health workforce in our regions.